Winner Archive

Janet and Lew Klein Award

David Boardman, Dean, Klein College of Media and Communications, Temple University

The Janet & Lew Klein award is officially known as the Janet & Lew Klein "Making a Difference" award. It is given to either a person or an organization that has truly helped "Make a Difference" in the world.

2022 Award Recipient: David Boardman, Dean, Klein College of Media and Communications, Temple University

This year’s recipient is David Boardman, Dean of the Lew Klein College of Media and Communication at Temple University. Boardman has held this position since 2013, coming from being Executive Editor and Senior Vice President of The Seattle Times, which won four Pulitzer Prizes under his leadership. Since then, he has done great work for Klein College and the broadcasting industry in general, and is responsible for naming his school for broadcast pioneer Lew Klein. Five years after Boardman’s start at Klein, the college was awarded the nation’s top Equity and Diversity Award from the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication. This year, Boardman was named “Administrator of the Year” nationally by that organization and the Scripps Howard Foundation. He is also the Founding Chair of the Lenfest Institute for Journalism, the non-profit owner of The Philadelphia Inquirer, and serves on the executive committee of the Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press.

Past Winners


The Police Athletic League of Philadelphia
Abington Police Athletic League


The Bus Stops Here Foundation - Jerome Bettis


Marcellus Alexander


Dr. David Fajgenbaum


Linda Kreiser


John Kanzius


Representative Paul Clymer


Dick Wiley


Dr. William S. Pierce


Bayfront Maritime Center
Richard & Amy Eisenberg

Search Open Positions
Job Postings
Get Your Word Out
Public Education Program
Find Out Why It Pays to Be A PAB Member
Become a Member